Tristram

Moss Bros.


Tomorrow, my good friend will marry his partner of 5 years (to the day) at Shepperton Studios. So I need a suit. Not just a suit, but a suit suitable for an usher!
It's all very last minute, but I've got this! He says!!

Prior to my shopping mission, I'd already planned out what I needed, and where to get them. I had plans A, B, C and D in place.... Failure was not an option!
Long story short, I'm pleased to confirm 'mission black suit' was a success. Below, I've outlined one of the events from the day that made me smile and think "cheeky sod" at the same time...

It's about noon and I'm in Staines shopping centre. First store on my list to visit: Moss Bros.

After a quick scan around the store, I approached a tall, thin Sales Assistant of Somali origin, told him I needed a black suit for a wedding taking place tomorrow.
He asks, "What size jacket do you take sir?" for the sake of argument (and embarrassment) let's just say I said "X" he went over to the rack, pulled off a jacket and handed it to me to try on while motioning towards the mirror. I tried to see the little plastic size tag you normally find sitting on the neck of the hanger, but his hands were quick - much like a magician performing a slight of hand trick.

Jacket on, I admired the fit in the mirror, nodding, I tell him "good fit".
He asked, "How long has it been since you last purchased a suit sir?" I replied "It's been a while, I work from home a lot, so haven't really needed to have one of late" he said, lowering his voice "I see sir, this is a size X+12" (again for the sake of argument and embarrassment).

My first thought: 'Wow! You really know your stuff'.
To be able to look someone up and down and know their size, give or take a size or two - impressive.

I appreciate (sales) people who know their stuff!

The Store didn't have the matching trousers but were able to secure two pairs at a local branch for me to collect later. I thanked the assistant for his service, purchased the jacket and left.
Feeling pleased with my successes thus far, I decide to treat myself to a cheeky Wagamama lunch - as you do!

While chomping through my Firecracker main meal and Chilli Squid side, I replayed the events in Moss Bros. over in my mind.
This time focusing on the slight of hand and the X+12 comment...

It then dawned on me:

At some point between me telling the assistant my assumed size (X), and him handing me the (X+12) jacket, in his mind, a thought process MUST have taken place.
Had the positions been reversed, I can honestly say I would have done the same... and perhaps I would have thought one or more of the following:

  • "You what? Size X? In ya dreams mate!"
  • "Come again! Size X, last century maybe, not today that's for sure!"
  • "Size X? And the rest... You've been eating all the pies!"


...so it's safe to assume he MAY have done the same, in which case I feel justified in calling him a cheeky sod! LOL

Don't get me wrong, in this scenario, I appreciate what he did. Had he brought me a size X, I would have gone through the embarrassment of it not fitting, before finding a more suitable size.

I can laugh at the situation, I have laughed with friends at the situation!

The boy done good!

So what do I take away from this? Three things;

  1. It's time to do something about X+12!
  2. Wagamama, I love ya, but I need to go away for a while 😢
  3. Give the people what they want, not what they think they want.

comments powered by Disqus