Tristram

The Fashion Industry - Which image do you prefer?

I came across the below images on Facebook recently and felt the need to comment on it.
To answer my own question posed in the subject of this post... I'd say I prefer the look of the woman on the left (below) in BLACK 100% of the time, for a number of reasons. Being "Healthy" comes in many different shapes and sizes. I disagree with the fashion industry's stereotypical image of "beauty" and I detest the pressure put on young girls and women of all ages to conform to a certain "look" - which sees many females starve themselves, become malnourished and risk organ damage, in the pursuit of an unattainable look. In many cases ( when viewing women's magazines ) it truly is unachievable, unrealistic and more often than not the images we see have been subjected to Photoshop. These are the images we bombard our children with daily, brainwashing them constantly into thinking this, is what they should strive for. It's putting pressure on their daily existences. It's wrong in my view / opinion. I don't find the woman in RED attractive - yes it's a personal view. She doesn't have the body of a woman, more like a boy - I generalise - of course. I read an article somewhere recently that tried to offer up a possible explanation as to why the fashion industry continues to adopt and promote this approach. It's just an opinion, though it suggested the decision makers - the influencers at the top of the fashion houses are generally either Gay Men or Women. Each have their set views on what is, and what is not attractive. In other words, what appeals to THEM as people.

Gay men typically favour the male form, the article suggests this to be their appeal / focus when commissioning or designing pieces. Similarly, according to the article Women too like the male form / body. So it's easy to see where their respective "heads" are focused. There aren't as many straight men running fashion houses as there perhaps needs to be to address the imbalance. Some brave women / people / department stores have started making a change to the industry. Focusing on the average woman's body, designing clothes - fashionable clothes for Non "Size Zero" and I like that!!! I like that a lot!!! Women with curves are sexy, woman all over the world should embrace their curves.


comments powered by Disqus