Tristram

The wrong wallet...

25th May 2023

Earlier today I decided to try out a relatively new restaurant in Staines called 7Bone Burgers.

https://7bone.co.uk/locations/staines

They're located where Pizza Express used to be, backing onto the river across from the Slug and Lettuce bar.

I chose this place on the way home from a long, hot summer walk the other side of the Thames.

Upon entering 7Bone I was greeted by (I think) the manager, he was smiley, pleasant and welcoming. At this point it wasn't busy, I had my pick of tables to choose from, so I chose a table off to one side where I felt I would get some peace and quiet should the place start getting busy.

The menu looked complex, had a lot of options and combinations to chose from. After a few minutes the manager came over, asked if I needed help / guidance with the menu. I obliged. He took me through the many options, I ordered a milkshake Peanut Butter and Jelly - hold the jelly! It was thick, creamy. Everything I wanted aftery walk.

Shortly after the milkshake, I ordered food, a burger and fries with some chicken goujons on the side.

Three guys entered and sat at the table adjacent to me. Office types, fresh out of work. Fair enough I thought - there goes my peace and quiet. They were chatty, lively, their conversation jumped from topic to topic - including toothpastes, brands and prices!!! Don't judge me, I could hardly ignore them - they were that loud.

Across the restaurant I noticed a sign on the wall it read words to the effect:

"No Cash - Credit and Debit Cards Only" 💳

I had my wallet, I was all good. I continued eating, then a voice inside my head said - 'check your wallet'.

PANIC!

I had picked up the wrong wallet, I had the one I was using whilst out in Amsterdam a week or so earlier with Euro notes and my OV chipkaart (think Oystercard for The Netherlands)... no credit / debit cards inside!!!! 😲

This does not happen to me... EVER!

Thoughts turned to how I was going to pay this bill, would the smiley, pleasant and welcoming manager's attitude change? Would the police be called? I had no idea, but I needed to say something to the staff long before the bill came! That much I was sure of.

However, I was faced with a dilemma, I didn't want to have THIS conversation with the staff, with the table of guys sat next to me. If I could hear ALL of their conversations, they'd surely hear mine. No thanks! But my food has already arrived, they were yet to order - ugh!

Commence "Operation Slow Down".

Yup, that's right, my mission was clear:
- Phase 1: Out stay the table of guys next to me
- Phase 2: Address the payment situation with the staff


*Insert receipt*






"Thank you for accommodating this! Regards Tristram"

MISSION ACCOMPLISHED!





Fist bump and I was out the door! 🤜🏻🤛🏾

The public review doesn't quite embody the full story, but it says enough.



comments powered by Disqus