Tristram

Vue Cinema (Complaint) - Staines



Went to the cinema last night, Vue in Staines to be precise, arrived in plenty of time for a 10pm showing of "Blade Runner 2049". Got there about 20mins early. No big deal, I enjoy people watching as much as the next person - perhaps more so! The place wasn't busy, a handful of people queuing for their tickets and snacks.

7 members of staff behind the counter;
2 serving customers,
1 observing / in training,
1 tapping away on her phone,
the other 3 doing god knows what... chatting

In front the counter, 2 other members of staff; 1 checking tickets for screens (his job), 1 leaning on the counter, again chatting away to her co-workers. Remember I said there was a queue? Good, because it's not my main point... I'm getting to it!

There were 3 tables in the concourse area, all covered in rubbish left by disgusting humans, instead of using the bins provided (we all know the sort, those who wouldn't think twice at throwing an empty 'chicken in a box' out of their car window, for society to deal with "not my problem bruv").
In addition to the tables, popcorn littered the floor like confetti, especially by the counter. Enough to half fill a large, sweet -not salted- popcorn box. Personal preference!

So, what's my point if not the staff taking pride in their environment, or litter bug society...? I'm getting to it, hang in there... read on.

At times like these, I find Twitter very useful. Out comes the phone, pap pap (photo evidence a must, video, a bonus if you can get it)... time to tweet!
Quick search "Vue cinemas"... Follow... let the tweeting begin! Even easier now we have double the characters per tweet! Imagine trying to get all of this in 140 characters. I'm good, but not that good!

Four tweets later, as I settle into my VIP reclining seat... (should've bought a standard ticket, then self upgraded - place was empty - d'oh), I switch off my phone and watch trailers - I'm sure by now you know how I feel about phones in cinemas. Gotta live it, can't just preach it!

So, is my point, how good it is these days to complain to companies directly and instantly when you see something not right? No, not even that...

This afternoon, having forgotten all about the tweets and the film, I check my phone to see what's new. I have two replies from Vue;

  1. One apologising for the poor experience blah blah blah... management has been informed blah blah blah... it won't happen again blah blah blah. You know how it goes.

  1. The other reply, asking me to DM them with my email address. I chose to reply to this one after sending over my address in a direct message... let's see why they want my e-mail. What more can they add to their blah blah blah message?

It's at this point I should clearly state, I never complain to GET anything. I complain because I see something wrong, and I want it to be right! Simple.

Tweet replied to, phone off, back to doing what I was doing before. This evening checking mail they've sent me 2 complimentary cinema tickets for any showing in the next 12 months as a goodwill gesture. To think, I nearly never sent a response back. Period. Let alone with my email address! Take from this status what you will. The point I wanted to share with you good people... is that I think I'm turning into the Victor Meldrew of the modern age... and I quite like it! 😉







comments powered by Disqus