Tristram

(Part 1) Squires Garden Centre (Twickenham)



I want to share another ditty with you from Wednesday.... I realise I may not come off looking so good in this one. But I'm prepared to share the story regardless. It's all down to interpretation.

I like to think I pay attention to the words people use when they speak. Some word choices stand out more than others. Or maybe it's just me.

To set the scene...

Some of you may know I've started (finally) looking into creating my first of many terrarium projects. Over the past weeks I've been scouting out suitable glass containers, both sealed and open to get started with. On Wednesday, during my lunch break, I popped into Squires to see what they had on offer - both containers and plants. I'm partial to the odd succulent - what what!

After walking the aisles looking for some nice glass, I happened upon a small selection, not very inspiring but affordable. Rejecting what was on show, I ventured outside to look at the plants, I already have some plants ready to be planted, but I'm always looking for more.

Back inside, I approached one of the staff working the checkout, asked her about glass containers suitable for creating Terrariums. She paused for a moment to think, I gestured to the selection I'd seen so far and told here I wasn't keen on those, perhaps there were others in the store I had missed. She said... "oh yes, we do have that display at the back of the store, but they're a bit expensive..." inside, I could feel my right eyebrow make for the sky! She continued... "You might want to try the pet store across the way, they may have fishbowls or tanks suitable for your needs". I'm paraphrasing, but you get the jist.

What made her think I couldn't afford items in their selection? Did my attire scream "vagabond"? I didn't catch her looking me up and down, but still. What was she thinking, casting aspersions like that?

For the record, I was wearing a pair of smart tan shoes, blue jeans (no rips), a black button down shirt and a v-neck jumper over the top. No coat! It was a smart day! No hoodies! No trainers!

I left empty handed.

Continue reading for Part 2

comments powered by Disqus