Tristram

(Part 2) Vue Cinema (Staines): To VIP, or Not to VIP


If you missed Part 1 go back and read it.

PART 2 - Later that night as you know I went to the cinema. No costume change needed, I was still feeling fresh.

In my last status update I spoke about buying a VIP cinema ticket. I'll explain why and how that came about....

Waiting in line to buy my cinema ticket from the counter staff (because buying it from the automated machine threatens jobs), I find myself behind a group of 5 Japanese friends. The Vue employee is training a new member or staff, which naturally slows the process down somewhat, we've all been the newbie at one point or another, so I make allowances for that. I'm early anyway. Another checkout becomes available, so, I side step the popcorn confetti and make my way forward.

After confirming the film and show time I want a ticket for, the employee spins the screen around for me to select my seat... In what can only be described as the cinema equivalent, to a flight attendant pointing out the emergency exits on a plane, she pointed out the screen location, standard seating, VIP and something else.... it all happened quickly and I wasn't fully paying attention. Anyway, I selected my seat, typically centre centre. Then turned my attention to retrieving my visa card. Eyes focused on my wallet I hear her say "oh that's the VIP section" I felt my eyebrow on the move again. "Are you sure you want that one?" A measured "Yes!" left my mouth. I can tell you expletives were going around my mind! WTAF! Twice in one day!! In this case, I perhaps should have downgraded to a standard ticket, but a part of me wanted to say "Yes #####, I can afford VIP thank you very much, gimme my ticket... and a large sweet popcorn!"

My mistake, turns out the screening of the film was as good as empty, apart from 2 other people who chose to sit in the front row (who does that?!) I should have bought standard then skipped my merry way into the VIP seat..... to think I did that a few days earlier and completely forgot about it. Never mind. Got stuck in VIP tunnel vision.

Anyway, they say things happen in threes. I was miffed at it happening once, let alone twice! I appreciate the above scenarios are both open to interpretation. Take from them what you will.

comments powered by Disqus